About the Awards



Stage 1: Applications

Applications open at 9am on 30th November 2020 and will be reviewed following the deadline at 5pm on 8th January 2021.

Stage 2: Further information

Pilotlight will contact successful applicants by the end of January 2021 with a request for further information to be returned within 7 days which will be used to create the final shortlist.

Stage 3: Shortlist meeting

If successful shortlist meetings will take place from February-April 2021

Stage 4: Final selection

Feedback from the Shortlist will be presented to the Awards Judging Panel, who will select 20 charities as Award Winners based on the following areas:

  • ambition for the charity;
  • making a difference to those in need;
  • willingness to benefit from the Pilotlight programme;
  • desire to develop the charity’s work further to help others

Final selection: May 2021.

Stage 5: Pilotlight Projects

The 20 Winners will be matched with a Pilotlight Project Manager and four Senior Business Leaders for a 10 month strategic planning process, meeting once a month in London to develop their strategy and address existing challenges. Projects begin from June 2021.

Stage 6: Weston Charity Awards Celebration Event

The 20 Winners will gather at a final event to celebrate their achievements over the course of the project. Final ceremony: October 2022.